Cavite I. Accessibility

Download 494.6 Kb.
Date conversion16.08.2017
Size494.6 Kb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   15



    • The province of Rizal is 110 kilometers south of Manila. It is accessible by land transportation from Metro Manila and the neighboring provinces of Southern Tagalog and Central Luzon

    • Buses, varied public utility vehicles and the metro rail system with stations at Crossing/EDSA in Mandaluyong City, Robinson’s Galleria in Ortigas Avenue, Quezon City and Farmer’s Market in Cubao, Quezon City ply the routes to Antipolo, Taytay, Cainta, Binangonan, Angono, Tanay and other towns in Rizal


A political subdivision was formed in 1853, consisting of the towns of Antipolo, Boso-boso, Cainta and Taytay from Tondo and the towns of Morong, Baras, Tanay, Pililla, Angono, Binangonan and Jalajala from La Laguna.

Rizal Province, named after Jose P. Rizal, the Philippine National Hero was officially created by virtue of Act No. 310 by the Philippine Commission. It was composed of 26 municipalities; 13 from the old province of Manila comprising Las Piñas, Malabon, Makati, Parañaque, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Navotas, Muntinlupa, Taguig, Pateros, Marikina, San Mateo, and Rodriguez (formerly Montalban). The other 12 municipalities were from the district of Morong, which includes Angono, Baras, Cainta, Antipolo, Cardona Jalajala, Morong, Pililla, Tanay, Taytay and Teresa.

On November 8, 1975, the newly-formed Metro Manila area was created by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 824 which resulted in the incorporation of the 12 towns of Las Piñas, Parañaque, Muntinlupa, Taguig, Pateros, Makati, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Malabon, Navotas, Pasig and Marikina. The remaining 14 towns were left to the province of Rizal-San Mateo, Rodriguez, Baras, Cainta, Taytay, Angono, Antipolo, Binangonan, Teresa, Morong, Cardona, Tanay, Pililla and Jalajala.


  • Total Land area : 308,122 hectares

  • Population : 1,707,218 as of May 2000

  • Climate : Dry / Warm and Rainy Seasons

  • 13 municipalities and 1 city.

Municipalities: City:
First District Second District

  1. Angono

5. Baras

Antipolo City

  1. Binangonan

6. Cardona

  1. Cainta

7. Morong

  1. Taytay

8. Jalajala

9. Pililla

10. Rodriguez

11. San Mateo

12. Tanay

13. Teresa



      1. Petroglyphs

Binangonan and Angono, Rizal

Discovered by National Artist and acclaimed muralist from Angono, Carlos “Botong” Francisco in 1965, this cultural heritage site dates back to circa 3000 B.C. or the stone age and is the most ancient Filipino or more aptly, prehistoric Filipino work of art. The site is famous for its rock engravings consisting of 127 drawings of human and animal figures. Previous archaeological finds yielded fragments of earthenware, obsidian flakes and shells. The Petroglyphs site has been included in the World’s Inventory of the Rock Art, through the auspices of UNESCO, ICCROM, and ICOMOS. In 1996, it was declared as a national cultural treasure by Presidential Decree 260. It received the greatest recognition when it was named as one of the “100 Most Endangered Sites of the World” by the World Monuments Watch List. The preservation of the Petroglyphs was a collective effort of the National Museum of the Philippines, World Monument Watch Fund, American Express International, the Department of Tourism and Antipolo Properties, Inc. It is managed by the National Museum of the Philippines.

2. Artists Village of Angono
The town of Angono is known for the Higantes Festival and for its admirable artworks of extraordinarily talented artists. It is the home town of the two great National Artists of the Philippines, Carlos “Botong” Francisco for visual arts and Maestro and Lucio San Pedro for music, who have inspired generations of artists to create numerous works in varied styles of artistic expressions
There are a number of art galleries and studios within the town which makes Angono the Art Capital of the Philippines. These are the Blanco Family Museum, Nemiranda Arthouse & Gallery, Tiamson Art Gallery, Ang Nuno Artists Foundation Gallery, Village Artists Gallery, Juban Studios, Vicente Reyes Art Studio, the Second Gallery and the Angono Ateliers Gallery.

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   15

The database is protected by copyright © 2017
send message

    Main page