Greenfield Public Schools 141 Davis Street Greenfield, ma 01301 Tel: 413. 772. 1310; Fax: 413. 774. 7940



Download 15.38 Kb.
Date conversion05.11.2016
Size15.38 Kb.
Greenfield Public Schools


141 Davis Street

Greenfield, MA 01301

Tel: 413.772.1310; Fax: 413.774.7940

Susan D. Hollins, PhD

Superintendent of Schools

line 3


GREENFIELD SCHOOLS

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM
Using the iPad 2 for Curriculum: An Introduction

June 26-27, 2012

Beth Dichter, M.Ed., Tech. Integration Specialist, Northampton High School (bethdichter@gmail.com)



Carol S. Holzberg, PhD, Technology Coordinator, Greenfield Public Schools (cholzberg@gmail.com)
Free Apps to Explore and Review
Use the iPad Evaluation Rubric posted at http://www.gpsk12.org/PD/iPads/iPadWorkshopAppEvalRubric061912.doc to download and review 3-4 apps on this list.
Math

  • Counting Bills and Money http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/counting-bills-coins/id374976971?mt=8
  • NineGaps Free http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ninegaps-lite/id327122710?mt=8 Featured by Apple as "Best Math Puzzle Game" and "New and Noteworthy." Fun but tricky puzzle game.


  • Times Table Light http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id382413362?mt=8. This app offers a way for users to practice and learn multiplication tables using interactive games and activities.


Books

  • Millie was Here, Book 1: Meet Millie http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/millie-was-here-book-1-meet/id452174851?mt=8 HONORS FOR MILLIE WAS HERE. Editor’s Choice Award, Children’s Technology Review (2011). App of the Week, FOXNews (Sept 2011)

  • Shakespeare http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/shakespeare/id285035416?mt=8 Complete works of Shakespeare (41 plays, 154 sonnets and 6 poems, including doubtful works) and a searchable concordance to find the exact word or phrase you’re looking for (with “relaxed” searching to find words close to your search term).

  • Toy Story Read Along http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/toy-story-read-along/id364376920?mt=8. Interactive book with games, movie clips, coloring pages, sing-along tunes, and surprises. Hear the story read aloud, record your own narration, or explore at your own pace.


Literacy

  • Clean Up: Category Sorting http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/clean-up-category-sorting/id404057271?mt=8 Category Game for Young Learners
  • Grammar Dragon http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/grammar-dragon/id397730260?mt=8. Game to help youngsters learn to identify various parts of speech. There are a number of other games put out by this organization that are free:http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/nrcc-games/id397599661


  • Let’s Name Things Fun Deck http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/lets-name-things-fun-deck/id454450994?mt=8. Practice vocabulary, sorting and thinking.

  • Storykit http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/storykit/id329374595?mt=8 Create an electronic storybook.


Science

  • Science 360 for iPad http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/science360-for-ipad/id439928181?mt=8. From the National Science Foundation. Engaging science and engineering images and video from around the globe; news feed featuring breaking science-related news from NSF-funded institutions.


Social Studies

  • The Presidency http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-presidency/id370072846?mt=8 Easy access to historical information regarding the 44 United States Presidents. Designed as a reference for Elementary and Middle School students.


Creative Play, Paint, Music, Sound

  • Doodle Buddy http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/doodle-buddy-paint-draw-scribble/id313232441?mt=8 Doodle Buddy Gold is the most fun you can have with your finger! Finger paint with your favorite colors and drop in playful stamps. Connect with a friend to draw together over the Internet.
  • iSculpt http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/123d-sculpt/id446119510?mt=8 The most fun you can have sculpting without getting your hands dirty!


  • PocketShaker http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pocket-shaker/id313139592?mt=8. Turn your iPhone into any percussion instrument you can imagine. Just shake it to make the sound.

  • Singing Fingers http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/singing-fingers/id381015280?mt=8. Singing Fingers lets you finger-paint with sound. Just touch the screen while you make a sound, and colorful paint appears. Touch the paint to play back the sound again!


Special Education

  • FreeSpeech http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/freespeech/id517017346?ls=1&mt=8. Easy-to-use AAC app for persons with difficulty speaking. Offered by the Give Speech Foundation, a nonprofit whose goal is to make AAC applications better and cheaper for people with disabilities. Learn more at http://givespeech.org

  • SoundingBoard http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/soundingboard/id390532167?mt=8t Communication technology to create custom boards using AbleNet symbols or your own photos. Perfect for children in special education, persons on the autism spectrum, and adults with disabilities.


Universal Design
  • Dragon Dictation http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dragon-dictation/id341446764?mt=8. Voice recognition application powered by Dragon® NaturallySpeaking® that allows you to easily speak and instantly see your text or email messages. Must be online to use it.



Miscellaneous

  • PBS Kids http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pbs-kids-video/id435138734?mt=8 Watch videos from your favorite PBS KIDS television series anytime, anywhere (in the USA). “PBS KIDS Video” features more than 1,000 videos from over a dozen top PBS KIDS and PBS KIDS GO! New videos every week.

  • PBS for iPad Free http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pbs-for-ipad/id398349296?mt=8 Explore a rich and varied selection of hundreds of videos from both new programs and from the PBS archives. Find these top programs and more.

  • Rover - The Browser for Education (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/rover/id483262612). View Flash on the iPad

  • TED Talks http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ted/id376183339?mt=8 Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world. 

Using the iPad 2L Free App List, Dichter & Holzberg, June 26-27, 2012 Page of





The database is protected by copyright ©hestories.info 2017
send message

    Main page