Introduction 5 Background Information 5 Preliminary Findings 7

International Quality Standards

Download 1.31 Mb.
Date conversion03.05.2018
Size1.31 Mb.
1   ...   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   ...   23

7 International Quality Standards

ISO 9000

FI –

LV (1999/2000)


ES, since 1995

SK, since 1990s

AT (over 20 users)

DK, since 1985

BE, since 1998


CZ, since 2001

EE, although very limited use

SE, since 1994


PL; since 1990s

HU, since mid 1990s


BG, since 2002




RO, since 2001

SI, since 1997


ISO/IEC 17025


ISO 17020


ISO/IEC 17020


Eco-Management and Audit Scheme (EMAS)






ISO 14000

ES, since 1998

CZ, since 2001


BG, since 2005


DK, since 2002

Standard for Training Certification and Watchkeeping 95 (STCW 95)


People first, people involved

BE, since 2000

ISO 17799

CZ, since 2006

ISO 27001

BG, since 2008

Technical standards: practically in all the countries, laboratories and “technical” units acquire different standards that are in fact prerequisite for their functioning.

UK: Yes, however no central records are kept on the use of standards
NL: several organisations in the public sector make use of ISO 9000.


Several administrations has been using the ISO 9000 standards to certify their services such as local governments (schools, users’ relationship office, elderly services, training, etc.); healthcare organizations (laboratories, cleaning services, etc.) and in central administrations.

However, the diffusion of ISO standards has never been supported by the Department of Public Administration in a top-down fashion; instead the choice of the most adequate standards and their control have been left to the autonomy of administrations.


ISO 9000 quality standards are the most popular quality management model in Lithuanian public administration institutional system. It is used by 21% of the public sector institutions. Not all the quality systems implemented according to ISO 9000 quality standards in the institutions are certificated. Certification means real system’s equivalent to the standards. But all the institutions usually get certification. In the future more institutions are going to start implementation of the ISO 9000 quality standards.


It is very usual that Portuguese public services (mainly at local level - municipalities) establish agreements with private consultants to implement ISO.

There is also some cooperation with national quality associations for the purpose of carrying out quality and innovation activities. DGAPE has a recent protocol with one private ISO certification institution, but the application in PA doesn’t have yet significant expression.


In 1997, first two ISO 9000 quality certificates were gained in Slovene state administration: The Slovenian Intellectual Property Office, and the Metrology Institute (MIRS).

In 1999, first administrative unit followed, namely Administrative Unit Ljutomer, in 2000 first ministry (Ministry of Transport), and in 2001 first government office (Government Centre for Informatics).

Number of PA organizations applying their quality management systems according to the ISO 9000 quality standards is increasing steadily.

Introducing of quality management systems according to ISO 9000 quality standards in PA organizations was supported by Ministry responsible for PA since 1999, basically by assuring different methodological tools (publication in 2000, testing customers satisfaction and employees satisfaction in 2000, developed training programmes for quality, in 2002 agreement between Ministry responsible for PA and one certification organization was achieved to lower costs of formal certification procedure for about 10 administrative units.



Some administrations have used ISO certification to improve the trust of the users of their services.


The ISO system is a well-tried standard for process controlling and developing public administration agencies.


Organisations need to establish a Global Management System, embracing Quality Management, Environment and Risk at Work standards.

Individual explanations:


ISO 9000 – 87 administrations in 2006, 105 administration in 2007


ISO 9000, the standards on quality management, is the most widespread. In 2001, Vsetin City and Ceska Lipa City implemented ISO 9001 and got the certificate. In 2002 – 2007, other city authorities gained individually this certificate.

In the end of 2007, there were about 10 PA authorities with the valid ISO 9001 certificate.

ISO 14000, the standards on management of processes with regard to the environmental impacts, was implemented in 2001 in Vsetin city together with ISO 9001. But this is the only implementation of ISO 14000 in the Czech PA.

ISO 17799 - information security standard was imlemented in 2006 individualy in two authorities: Slapanice City - City Authority (together with ISO 9001) and Regional Authority of Pardubice Region.


Accreditation: Accreditation based on common European standards has been in use since 2002. These international quality standards are very widespread in the Health Sector. The standards have been developed in accordance to the requirements set up by the ALPHA-programme, which has been developed by The International Society for Quality in Healthcare. Link:


ISO 9000 certification has been adopted by many departments.

For example, in the ministry of finance:

* within the public Treasury network, following departments are all certified ISO 9001 (2000 version): the missions of economic and financial expertise (MEEF) for their expertise services, to the audit, expertise and control mission (MAEC) for its external and internal

national audit services and to the Lille collection centre for its activities.

* the international network of the Minéfi (DGTPE/UBIFRANCE) is certified ISO 9001 (2000 version) for its support services to the international development of the French companies.

* 9 DRIRE (regional directions of industry, research and environment) are certified ISO 9001 (2000 version) for all their activities.

* the department for property of the central administration is certified ISO 9001 (2000 version).

In addition, 9 analysis laboratories of the SCL (Central Laboratories services) are accredited COFRAC (EN ISO 17025).



So far quality assurance in Malta relies on the quality service charter initiative and the common service standards.


Public Service organisations in Ireland are free to attain such quality standards as required. Indeed, a large number of organisations have attained ISO standards to date.


ISO 9001:2001 Quality Management System was implemented, among others in Ministry of Interior and Administration, Ministry of Justice, Office of Civil Service, some Departments in the Ministry of Economy.

The received certificates result in raising the level of activities for the citizens in the fields like: management processes improvement, organization’s prosavings way of work, clients satisfaction measurement, processes identification, work quality guarantee.

Outside central administration there is a big interest in ISO standards: over a 100 of Tax Offices is certificated with ISO or have applied

The ISO system has disseminated in the Hungarian public administration widely since the middle of 1990’s. Up till now several organisations have been using the ISO international quality standard.

The ISO 9001 is seldom used, in 2008, for example, 10 prefects’ institutions were awarded with this certificate.

1   ...   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   ...   23

The database is protected by copyright © 2017
send message

    Main page