Introduction 5 Background Information 5 Preliminary Findings 7

Download 1.31 Mb.
Date conversion03.05.2018
Size1.31 Mb.
1   ...   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   ...   23

6 Excellence Models

To be organized.




FI (2000)


LU (2005)

ES (since 2003 in Local Administration)

SK, since 2003

DE, since 2001

AT, since 2001

DK – KVIK (CAF), since 2003

BE, since 2000

CY, since 2004

CZ, since 2003

EE, since 2002

GR, since 2002

PL, since 2001

HU, since 2002

FR, since 2000, but is not broadly used.

BG, since 2006

LT, since 2002

PT, since 2000

RO, since 2005

SI, since 2002

IT, since 2004




LU (2004)

ES (since 1996 in Local Administration, since 1999 in Central Government Administration)

SK, since 2000

UK, since about 1998

DK, since 1996

BE, since 2000

CY (only some organizations in wider Public Sector)

CZ, since 2000

EE, since 2000

PL, since 2001

HU, since mid 1990s


BG, since 2003


SI, since 1996


Malcolm Baldridge

FI – Finnish Quality Award model (in the 1990's)

Investors in People

UK, since about 1998


AT, since 1990s

Investors in Exellence


EVAM (assessment, learning and improvement) Model

ES (since 2006 in Central Government Administration and Local Administration)

Ibero-American Model

ES (since 2000 in Local Administration)

Charter Mark

UK, since 1996

BE, since 2000 (The City of Gent)

Customer Service Excellence

UK, since March 2008


BE – some local units of the Flemisch Police

NL, since 1993 compulsory for all police forces

Swedish Quality Model

SE, since 1992

IDP (Institutional Development Programme)

PL; since 2004

Quality Management System elaborated by Polish tax administration in cooperation with French administration

PL, since 2007

EVAM (assessment, learning and improvement) model

EVAM is a model designed in 2005 by the Spanish Ministry for Public Administration, and currently developed by the Spanish Agency for the Evaluation of Public Policies and Quality of Services. This is a simple model, suitable for promotion of self-assessment among public organisations without experience in this field. The structure of EVAM model comprises basic aspects related to the activities and results of public units. It also incorporates tools as methodological guidelines, an assessment questionnaire and a set of basic handbooks to improve the management in public organisations.

There is an EVAM e-tool for performing easily EVAM assessments. The review and extension of this tool are foreseen in order to allow its use on-line, by means of a registration in the Agency’s Website.

Since 2006 several organisations under different Ministries in the Central Government Administration and from a raising number of municipalities have been self-assessed with the EVAM Model.

The Ibero-American Excellence Model, designed by the Ibero-American Foundation for Quality Management ( in 1998 is being promoted by the Spanish Agency for the Evaluation of Public Policies and Quality of Services. Both organisations working together with the Public Policies and Administration International Foundation for Ibero-America drew up a version of the Ibero-American Model adapted to the Public Administration. In 1999 took place the first edition of the Ibero-American Quality Award. There are some examples of Spanish administrative units which used this model to compare the results obtained with the assessment results from EFQM Model use. More info:

The use of excellence models is not widely spread in the country. During the last 2 years some administrations started with the application of the CAF model (1 regional administration, 1 municipal administration, the National Revenue Agency). The MSAAR organized several events and published materials in order to stimulate more administrations to apply such tools. Further activities are foreseen for 2008.


CAF was introduced in France in 2000, but is not broadly used.

There is no official support from the central government. However, CAF is used in some public agencies and local government. The French National Geographic institute experience was presented at the CAF user event in Lisbon in 2007.

EFQM is mainly used in private businesses, but in some public services and local governments too.

Certification systems are set up for users/customers reception in some sectors:

Qualifinances : tax and public revenue departments

Qualiville : town/city administrations
Qualipref : Prefectures
There are also formalized service commitments in Employment agencies.


The Department for Public Administration (Dipartimento della Funzione Pubblica) has started the process for the diffusion of the CAF at the national level, in accordance with the decisions taken at European level and has set itself a primary objective of first testing out the grid and, with the help of the administrations involved, identifying its strengths and weaknesses.

Formez received a mandate from the Department to give assistance to those administrations which had already decided or would decide to comply with the project.

A criterion of merit was used to identify the pilot administrations. In fact, those administrations which had already introduced a “merit culture” within their organisation, through certifications and/or the use of advanced models of Quality Management, were chosen.
18 Administrations took part:

Number of Administrations

1   ...   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   ...   23

The database is protected by copyright © 2017
send message

    Main page