Press release rts announces winners of student television awards 2013 London, 16 May 2014

Download 26.31 Kb.
Date conversion06.02.2018
Size26.31 Kb.




London, 16 May 2014 The Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain's leading forum for television and related media, has announced the winners of the RTS Student Television Awards 2013.
The Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards were judged in four categories: Fiction, Entertainment, Factual and Animation. Students from universities across the UK picked up awards, including the National Film and Television School; Goldsmiths, University of London; The Northern Film School at Leeds Metropolitan University; Kingston University; the University of Bradford; Southampton Solent University; and The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.
Chaired by Patrick Younge, Founder and Director of WeCreate Associates Ltd and former Chief Creative Officer for BBC Productions, the Awards celebrate the best in student television from across the UK.
The winners were announced at an awards ceremony hosted by comedian and actor Joel Dommett on Friday 16 May at the BFI Southbank, London.
The Winners:

Undergraduate Animation

The Light Bulb

Alicja Jasina

Kingston University

A well-scripted, delightfully funny and subversive film that takes a wry, oblique look at the creative process of making a student film, whilst making one!”



Don Carey

Irish School of Animation, Ballyfermot College of Further Education
Poyo and Neko

Adam Gierasimiuk

Edinburgh College of Art
Undergraduate Entertainment


Elliot Nelson, Alex Rudys, Nichola Emsley, Simeon Petkov and Gary Quan

University of Bradford

The jury thought Telebox was brave and ambitious despite its small production budget. The script was well-written with a clear narrative arc and the characters had been well thought through. It was executed to a high standard with accomplished direction.”


Fist Punch

Ally Lockhart, Ruth Gallacher, Chris McGarrity, Kyle Spence and Guy Thomson

City of Glasgow College
Mini Munchies

Bethany Lamont and Team

Bournemouth University
Undergraduate Factual


Sam Clarke and Matt Farrant

Southampton Solent University

The film captured a simple and moving story with visual ambition. During the making of this film the producers discovered a different story to one they had anticipated and the panel commended their drive to follow this new path to produce a more rewarding character driven film.”



Neringa Medutyte, Arnoldas Alubauskas, Liam Dowler and Jonathan Mason

University of South Wales

Untold Story

Pawel Grzyb, Christopher McGill and Michal Zagorski

Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design
Undergraduate Fiction


Michael Crumley, Rosemary Levine and Jonathan Blair

The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

A brave, moving, understated gem of a film. Highly assured direction and compelling performances deliver a poignant story of loneliness and isolation.”



Diogo Guerner and Team

University of York
Untitled Blues

B Welby-Delimere and Karin Kavanagh

The Arts University Bournemouth

Postgraduate Animation

Miss Todd

Kristina Yee, Frances Poletti, Suzanne Mayger and Team

National Film and Television School

An ambitious well-directed film that delivers its inspirational message with confidence. The cut-out animation, art direction and camera work all come together beautifully.”


The Dewberry Empire

Christian Schlaeffer and Carla MacKinnon

Royal College of Art
The Magnificent Lion Boy

Ana Caro, James Cotton, Jonathan Carr and Team

National Film and Television School

Postgraduate Entertainment

Killer Moves

Ben Hillyar, Tim Partridge and Team

National Film and Television School

An original concept with pacey writing and editing and clear characters with room to develop storylines across a series. The Jury commended it for its ambition, execution and sheer watchability.


The Big Steal

Andre Sousa, Anti Reinthal and Team

National Film and Television School

Postgraduate Factual

Waiting for You

Lisa Fingleton

Goldsmiths, University of London

An extremely moving and personal film with engaging story-telling that took the audience through a very real and raw experience with an ending that didn’t shy away from the truth.”


Pablo's Winter

Chico Pereira

Screen Academy Scotland, Edinburgh Napier University

Adeyemi Michael and Team

National Film and Television School
Postgraduate Fiction

Border Patrol

Peter Baumann and Nishad Chaughule

The Northern Film School at Leeds Metropolitan University

Clever, inventive and with lovely performances, this exceptionally well-scripted film delivers as a black comedy with a great twist.



Joasia Goldyn, Sarah Woolner, Dan Demissie and Team

National Film and Television School

Cathy Brady, James Walker and Team

National Film and Television School

Follow us on @RTS_media. And keep up-to-date with news about the RTS Student Television Awards at #RTSStudent

** ENDS **
Notes to Editors:
About The Royal Television Society:
The Royal Television Society is Britain’s leading forum for television and related media. Membership is open to everyone with an interest in the medium.

The RTS was granted its Royal title in 1966 and HRH The Prince of Wales became Patron of the Society in 1997.

The RTS brings together people to exchange ideas, debate and explore key issues. The RTS Awards are an internationally recognised hallmark for quality and originality.
For over 80 years, the RTS has provided the UK’s main platform for debate about the future of television. Its lectures, events and publications make a substantial contribution to raising standards and developing practice. The RTS organises dinners with influential speakers, lectures, monthly sessions on current issues, and the world famous biennial Cambridge Convention sets the agenda for the future.
Television, the leading UK monthly on television issues and broadcasting policy, is distributed free to members.
Separate RTS Awards events cover Programme Making, Television Journalism, Craft and Design, Students and Innovation.
Many of the Society’s dinners and conventions are oversubscribed. Patron and individual membership entitles members to priority applications and advanced booking.
There are 13 regional centres in the UK, and a Republic of Ireland Centre located in Dublin. Each Centre provides a mix of programme, technical, and craft events.
The Society is an educational charity, embracing all aspects of television, including the creative community, broadcasting, equipment manufacture, professional consultancy, journalism, design, research and development, cable, satellite, video and interactivity.
The Society relies for its future on the contributions of individual members, corporate Patrons and the hard work of its volunteers. Individual membership is available from £65.00 per year.
For further information please contact:

Mary Bennett Teresa Hunt

+44 (0) 7843 572070 +44 (0) 7939 202613

The database is protected by copyright © 2017
send message

    Main page