Report: europarc atlantic Isles Autumn Seminar 23 24 October 2008 Making sustainable tourism



Download 258.22 Kb.
Page2/2
Date conversion03.01.2017
Size258.22 Kb.
1   2

Greenbox

Responsible Tourism Ltd. (trading as Greenbox) is an innovative regional tourism development initiative covering the counties of Leitrim, Fermanagh, parts of North and East Sligo, South Donegal and West Cavan and Monaghan.
The aims and objectives of the Greenbox is to develop Ireland’s first integrated eco-tourism destination, focusing on the development of a range of sustainable niche tourism products utilising the natural and cultural resources of its area and developing these in a way that respects the natural environment, involves local communities and, above all, is sustainable in environmental and economic terms.
The Greenbox project has become the role model in Ireland for eco-tourism, sustainable tourism and rural tourism development. When the project began in 2002 there were no coherent sustainable tourism or eco-tourism policies existing on the island of Ireland. Using a multi-stakeholder approach (bringing tourism agencies, business enterprise agencies, local authorities, communities, environmental groups and the private sector together), Greenbox has successfully delivered a number of innovative eco-tourism projects and initiatives including the following:


  • The Greenbox’s Eco-tourism Certification Scheme has been developed using a bottom-up approach so that it reflects the uniqueness of the region, yet respects the rigour and ethos of other eco-tourism standards and organisations at international level.

  • Greenbox was the first organisation in Ireland to actively support the eco-labelling process for tourist accommodation.

  • The needs of the private sector have been very much to the fore in all aspects of the project to date, with actions designed to suit operators time requirements, budget and experience.
  • The approach whereby multiple stakeholders have been brought together has resulted in many key lessons having being learned along the way and innovative solutions created to speed development.


  • Greenbox has placed a high value on cooperation with third level institutions in the region.

  • The organisations capital development support programme for sustainable and eco-tourism operators is the first of its kind on the island of Ireland.

The marketing strategy is web-based and in February 2008 the Greenbox website became an authority website for eco-tourism.


The success of Greenbox has been recognised in a number of recent awards including:

  • The Company has had Global Recognition in past 2 years.

  • Highly Commended Responsible Tourism Award December 06 World Travel Market, commended by NITB – People Category May 07

  • Finalist Destination Category –Tourism for Tomorrow – World Travel Market June 07

  • Green Apple Award – December 07 - Gold



Gerry Darby (GB) Lough Neagh Partnership Manager

Gerry has a background working in major community-based urban regeneration programmes in outer Glasgow. On his return to Northern Ireland in 1996 Gerry has been involved in overseeing major rural regeneration programmes covering the areas of tourism development and environmental management. Gerry has spent the last five years implementing a sustainable development plan for Lough Neagh.

Rams Island Case Study: Local Sustainable Development

Rams Island is a strong example of local sustainable development in action. It involves local people taking on the responsibilities of leasing, restoring and managing the biggest island on Lough Neagh. The work has been undertaken by representatives of the River Bann and Lough Neagh Association and a large proportion of the investment in the Island has come from the Lough Neagh Partnership. It’s a great story to tell, warts and all, and an opportunity to convey the unique way in which the local group approached the restoration of the Island and the huge amount of personal sacrifice the volunteers have made. The island has been transformed slowly and organically and its success is an argument against a strictly planned and rigid approach to local sustainable development. It is also important to look to the future and identify how small local projects like this are possibly under threat, as the big tourism and environmental bodies in Northern Ireland become more interested in big, uniform and strategically significant projects and less interested in the local, diverse, and small.


Appendix B: seminar programme




Appendix C: Seminar participants and contact details


Delegate

Position

Organisation

Email

Telephone

Aitken Clark

Chairman

EUROPARC Consulting

aitken.clark@btinternet.com

+44 *1223 842611

Alan Clarke

Chief Executive Officer

Northern Ireland Tourist Board

a.clarke@nitb.com




Alison Harvey

Planning and Development Officer

The Heritage Council

alison@heritagecouncil.com

+353 *56 7770777


Ally Hill

Marketing Coordinator

Hostelling International Norther Ireland

ally@hini.org.uk

+44 *28 9032 4733

Andrea Nicholas

Director

Green Business UK Ltd.

andrea@green-business.co.uk

+44 *1738 632162

Andrew Harper

Head of Economic and Social Development

Cairngorms NPA

andrewharper@cairngorms.co.uk

+44 *1479 873535

Anne Webster

Project Support

EUROPARC Consulting

info@europarc-consulting.org

+44 *1729 860465

Arthur Mitchell

Chairman

Mourne Heritage Trust


mht@mourne.co.uk

+44 *28 4372 4059

Brian Connolly




Northern Ireland Tourism Board

b.connolly@nitb.com

+44 90441685

Camilla Fitzpatrick

Sustainable Tourism Manager

Mourne Heritage Trust

mht@mourne.co.uk

+44 *28 4372 4059

Carole Okane

Office Manager

CCGHT

carole@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Caroline Marshall

Liaison Officer

Lough Neagh & Lower Bann advisory Committees

caroline@lnlb.org.uk

+44 *28 7930 1289

Caroline Nolan

Strangford Lough Officer

Strangford

Lough Management Advisory Committee



caroline.nolan@strangfordlough.org

+44 *28 4272 8886

Cathy Hopley

Communities and Funding Officer

Forest of Bowland AONB Unit

cathy.hopley@lancashire.gov.uk

+44 *1200 426433

Chris Bremner

Sustainable Economy Manager

Cairngorms NPA

chrisbremner@cairngorms.co.uk

+44 *1479 873535

Ciaran Murtagh

Deputy General Manager

Hastings Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

murta@sdh.hastingshotels.com

+44 *28 4372 1107

Clare Wright

Access Manager

The Countryside Access and Activities Network

clare@countrysiderecreation.com

+44 *28 9030 3936


Colin Murphy

Director

Wicklow Uplands Council

cmurphy@wicklowuplands.ie

+353 *404 43958

Colum McDaid

Protecting Landscapes Officer

Northern Ireland Environment Agency

colum.mcdaid@doeni.gov.uk

+44 *28 9056 9607

Dan Bloomfield

Development Manager

EUROPARC AI

dan@danbloomfield.net

+44 *1208 863886

Dan James

Sustainable Economy Officer

Exmoor NPA

DTJames@exmoor-nationalpark.gov.uk

+44 *1398 322234

Darren Roberts




RSPB

darren.roberts@rspb.org.uk


David Alexander





Causeway Gallery

info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

David Butterworth

Chief Executive

Yorkshire Dales NPA

susan.allison@yorkshiredales.org.uk

+44 *1969652327

David Erwin

Chairman

Causeway Coast and Glen Heritage Trust

helen@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Derek Hussey

Councillor

Strabane District Council

jdoherty@strabanedc.com

+44 *28 7138 2204

Desmond Turley

Partner

Turleys Bar

dturley@ulsterpropertysales.co.uk

+44 *28 9066 1929

Didi Baxter


Business Development Manager

Rostrevor Holidays

rostrevorhols@aol.com

+44 *28 417 38727

Dr Caro-Lynne Ferris

Network Director

The Countryside Access and Activities Network

caro-lynne@countrysiderecreation.com

+44 *28 9030 3936

Eszter Ballo

Research Officer

The Countryside Access and Activities Network

eszter@countrysiderecreation.com

+44 *28 9030 3936

Fred Verdier

Tourism Development Officer

Wicklow County Tourism

fred@visitwicklow.ie

+353 *8790 89639

Gerry Darby

Lough Neagh Partnership Manager

Lough Neagh Partnership

gerry@loughneaghpartnership.com

+44 *28 7941 7941


Heather Trench

Sustainable Tourism Officer

Cairngorms NPA

heathertrench@cairngorms.co.uk

+44 *1479 873535

Helen Noble

Trust Director

Causeway Coast and Glen Heritage Trust

helen@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Hetty Byrne




Forest of Bowland AONB Unit

hetty.byrne@lancashire.gov.uk

+44 *1200 426433

Jackie Denham

Associate

The Tourism Company

jdenman@thetourismcompany.com

+44 *1531 635451

Jacky Ridley

Sustainable Tourism Officer

Dartmoor NPA

jridley@dartmoor-npa.gov.uk


+44 *1626 831974

Jane Saxon

Business Development Manager

Lancashire and blackpool Tourist Board

jsaxon@lbtbltd.com

+44 *1257 226617

Jay Nethercott




Ulster Gliding

info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Jemma Roberts

Senior Project Officer

Cornwall Sustainable Tourism Project

jemma@coastproject.co.uk

+44 *1872 562057

Jim Bradley

Manager

Belfast Hills Partnership

jim.bradley@belfasthills.org

+44 *28 9060 3466

Joanne McAlinden

Project Officer

Mourne Heritage Trust


info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Julie Lawrence

Director of Information, Education and Visitor Services

North York Moors NPA

j.lawrence@northyorkmoors-npa.gov.uk

+44 *1439 770657

Julie-Anne Morrison

Admin Assistant

Causeway Coast and Glen Heritage Trust

info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Kathryn Callaghan

Water Based Development Officer

Countryside Recreation NI

sylvia@countrysiderecreation.com

+44 *28 9030 3936

Kim Hobson

Sustainable Tourism Policy Officer

Northumerland NPA

kim.hobson@nnpa.org.uk

+44 *1434 611507

Lenka Mulligan

Development Officer


Wicklow Uplands Council

lmulligan@wicklowuplands.ie

+353 *404 43958

Les Scott







enquiries@strattonhotel.com

+44 *1760 723845

Liz Wallace




Magilligan Field Centre/Binevenagh AONB Management Forum

info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Lucy Galvin

Journalist/

Reporter


EUROPARC Consulting

adrian.galvin@ntlworld.com

+44 *1603 764226

Mark Mohan

Chief Executive Officer

Armagh Down Tourism Partnership

mark@armaghanddown.com

+44 *28 9182 2881


Martin Carey

Chief Executive

Morne Heritage Trust

mht@mourne.co.uk

+44 *28 4372 4059

Mary Mulvey

Chief Executive Officer

The Green Box

Mary@greenbox.ie

+353 *9856898

Maxime Sizaret

Natural Heritage Officer

Causeway Coast and Glen Heritage Trust

maxime@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Mike Pugh




Forest of Bowland AONB Unit

mike.pugh@lancashire.gov.uk

+44 *1200 426433

Nigel Brooks

Sustainable Development Officer

Loch Lomond & Trossachs NPA

nigel.brooks@lochlomond-trossachs.org

+44 *1389 722004


Paddy Mathews

Environment and Planning

Failte Ireland

Paddy.Mathews@failteireland.ie

+353 *1602 4262

Patricia Mackey

Sustainable Development Officer

Sustainable Northern Ireland

patricia@sustainableni.org

+44 28 9050 7850

Patrizia Rossi

Director

Alpi Marittime RNP Italy

patrizia.rossi@parcoalpimarittime.it

+39 *171 97397

Patti Holly

Lecturer

North West Regional College

rita.brady@nwrc.ac.uk

+44 *28 7127 6101

Paul McVeigh

Staff Officer

Department of the Environment


paul.mcveigh@doeni.gov.uk

+44 *28 257304

Peter Thompson




Coleraine Borough/Causeway Coast AONB Management Group

info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Peter Winter

Treasurer

EUROPARC AI

pjw54@hotmail.co.uk




Philip McShane

Tourism Officer

Strabane District Council

jdoherty@strabanedc.com

+44 *28 7138 2204

Regina Green




EUROPARC AI

regina.green@broads-authority.gov.uk

+44 *1603 756063

Richard Chestnutt

Partner

Chestnutt Holiday Parks


info@chestnuttholidayparks.com

+44 *28 4176 2653

Richard Beale

Gower AONB Team Leader

City and County of Swansea

richard.beale@swansea.gov.uk

+44 *1792 635094

Richard Gillen

Countryside and Recreation Officer

Limavady Borough Council

info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100

Richard Partington

Senior Specialist, Nature Conservation and Landscape

Natural England

richard.partington@naturalengland.org.uk

+44 *1242 533291

Rita Brady

Lecturer

North West Regional College

rita.brady@nwrc.ac.uk

+44 *28 7127 6101

Rory McCarthy


Development Officer

Failte Ireland

rory.mccarthy@failteireland.ie

+353 *1884 7166

Rosemary Mulholland

Head of Conservation and Heritage

Craigavon Borough Council

rosemary.mulholland@craigavon.gov.uk

+44 *28 38 311668

Sandra Durand

Tourism Development Officer

Craigavon Borough Council

sandra.durand@craigavon.gov.uk

+44 *28 38 311668

Shane Harris

Sustainable Tourism and Communications Officer

North Pennines AONB Partnership

shane@northpenninesaonb.org.uk

+44 *1388 528801

Sharon Mahaffy

Tourism Development Officer

ARDS Borough Council

sharon.mahaffy@ards-council.gov.uk

+44 *28 9182 6846


Sheila McHale

Area Ranger

Peak District NPA

sheila.mchale@peakdistrict.gov.uk

+44 *1629 816290

Stephen Bill

Project Manager - Mournes and St Patrick/Christian Heritage

Northern Ireland Tourism Board

s.bill@nitb.com

+44 *28 9044 1642

Steve Macaré

Member

Yorkshire Dales NPA

susan.allison@yorkshiredales.org.uk

+44 *1969652327

Suzi Williams

Business Development Manager

Lancashire and Blackpool Tourist Board

swilliams@lbtbltd.com

+44 *1257 226617

Thomas Kerrigan

Councillor

Strabane District Council


jdoherty@strabanedc.com

+44 *28 7138 2204

Ulrike Marx

Student

Mourne Heritage Trust

mht@mourne.co.uk

+44 *28 4372 4059

Vanessa Scott

Chief Executive Officer

Stratton Hotel

enquiries@strattonhotel.com

+44 *1760 723845

Wilf Fenten
DELETE was not there

Director

EUROPARC Consulting

w.fenten@europarc.org

+44 *1729 860003

Wilma Mitchell

Hon Secretary

River Valley Development Association

arthur@mitchellheritage.wanadoo.co.uk

+44 *28 4176 2644

Winston Wallace








info@ccght.org

+44 *28 2075 2100






1   2


The database is protected by copyright ©hestories.info 2017
send message

    Main page